UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT FOR THE NORTHERN DISTRICT OF TEXAS FORT WORTH DIVISION

John Kelley, et al.

Plaintiffs,

v.

Case No. 4:20-cv-00283-O

Xavier Becerra, et al.,

Defendants.

NOTICE OF SUPPLEMENTAL AUTHORITY

Earlier today, the Fifth Circuit denied panel rehearing in *DeOtte v. Nevada*, No. No. 19-10754. It also denied rehearing en banc in a 9-8 vote. The Court's order is attached.

The Fifth Circuit's mandate will issue on August 31, 2022. When the mandate issues, it will remove any res judicata effect of the *DeOtte* litigation and allow the plaintiffs to renew their challenges to the Contraceptive Mandate under the Appointments Clause, the nondelegation doctrine, and RFRA. The Court had previously dismissed those claims on res judicata grounds in its order of February 25, 2021 (ECF No. 35). The plaintiffs respectfully ask the Court to allow them to seek summary judgment on these claims and permit the parties to submit supplemental briefing on this matter.

Respectfully submitted.

GENE P. HAMILTON Virginia Bar No. 80434 Vice-President and General Counsel America First Legal Foundation 300 Independence Avenue SE Washington, DC 20003 (202) 964-3721 gene.hamilton@aflegal.org

H. DUSTIN FILLMORE III Texas Bar No. 06996010 CHARLES W. FILLMORE Texas Bar No. 00785861 The Fillmore Law Firm, LLP 1200 Summit Avenue, Suite 860 Fort Worth, Texas 76102 (817) 332-2351 (phone) (817) 870-1859 (fax) dusty@fillmorefirm.com chad@fillmorefirm.com

Dated: August 23, 2022

/s/ Jonathan F. Mitchell JONATHAN F. MITCHELL Texas Bar No. 24075463 Mitchell Law PLLC 111 Congress Avenue, Suite 400 Austin, Texas 78701 (512) 686-3940 (phone) (512) 686-3941 (fax) jonathan@mitchell.law

Counsel for Plaintiffs

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I certify that on August 23, 2022, I served this document through CM/ECF

upon:

CHRISTOPHER M. LYNCH JORDAN L. VON BOKERN Trial Attorneys U.S. Department of Justice Civil Division 1100 L Street, NW Washington, DC 20005 (202) 353-4537 (phone) (202) 616-8460 (fax) christopher.m.lynch@usdoj.gov jordan.l.von.bokern2@usdoj.gov

BRIAN W. STOLTZ Assistant United States Attorney 1100 Commerce Street, Third Floor Dallas, Texas 75242-1699 (214) 659-8626 (phone) (214) 659-8807 (fax) brian.stoltz@usdoj.gov

Counsel for the Defendants

/s/ Jonathan F. Mitchell JONATHAN F. MITCHELL Counsel for Plaintiffs

United States Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit

No. 19-10754

RICHARD W. DEOTTE, on behalf of HIMSELF AND OTHERS SIMILARLY SITUATED; YVETTE DEOTTE; JOHN KELLEY; ALISON KELLEY; HOTZE HEALTH & WELLNESS CENTER; BRAIDWOOD MANAGEMENT, INCORPORATED, on behalf of ITSELF AND OTHERS SIMILARLY SITUATED,

Plaintiffs—Appellees,

versus

State of Nevada,

Movant—Appellant.

Appeal from the United States District Court for the Northern District of Texas USDC No. 4:18-CV-825

ON PETITION FOR REHEARING AND REHEARING EN BANC

Before HIGGINBOTHAM, SOUTHWICK, and ENGELHARDT, Circuit Judges.

Per Curiam:

The petition for panel rehearing is DENIED.

No. 19-10754

Additionally, the court having been polled at the request of one of the members of the court and a majority of the judges who are in active service not having vote in favor, the petition for rehearing en banc is DENIED. *See* FED. R. APP. P. 35; 5TH CIR. R. 35.

In the en banc poll, eight judges voted in favor of rehearing (Richman, Jones, Smith, Elrod, Haynes, Ho, Duncan, and Oldham), and nine voted against rehearing (Stewart, Dennis, Southwick, Graves, Higginson, Costa, Willett, Engelhardt, and Wilson). United States Court of Appeals

FIFTH CIRCUIT OFFICE OF THE CLERK

LYLE W. CAYCE CLERK TEL. 504-310-7700 600 S. MAESTRI PLACE, Suite 115 NEW ORLEANS, LA 70130

August 23, 2022

MEMORANDUM TO COUNSEL OR PARTIES LISTED BELOW:

No. 19-10754 DeOtte v. State of NV USDC No. 4:18-CV-825

Enclosed is an order entered in this case.

Sincerely,

LYLE W. CAYCE, Clerk Charles Whithing

By: Charles B. Whitney, Deputy Clerk 504-310-7679

Mr. Mr.	Elizabeth N. Dewar Charles William Fillmore Hartson Dustin Fillmore III Jessica Fuhrman
	Crystal Johnson Geise
Ms.	Susan Pearl Greenberg
Ms.	Claudia Hammerman
Mr.	Richard Brian Katskee
Ms.	Jamie A. Levitt
	Melina Maria Meneguin Layerenza
Mr.	Jonathan F. Mitchell
	Karen S. Mitchell
	Craig A. Newby
	Bruce H. Schneider
	Priscilla Joyce Smith
	. Heidi Parry Stern
Ms.	Catherine Weiss